News: 1up Discord VOIP
Invite Code: https://discord.gg/VPv9JhP

Author Topic: "Show Accuracy" broken with G36  (Read 1048 times)

Offline HonoredMule

• Since: 19/05/2012
    YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
"Show Accuracy" broken with G36
« on: January 22, 2013, 05:11:59 PM »
With my game installation, the option to "Show Accuracy" with weapon scopes (i.e. the expanding ring that shows potential spread while moving/shooting with a zoomed weapon) only works on the SR8 and PSG.  Even using the same crosshair choice, it still doesn't work on the G36.

Incidentally it works in 4.2 for me, but of course that's a whole other can of worms and I don't see myself ever switching to a version of the game that excludes the ikalizer audio system and replaces the character animations with ones for circus clowns.  So just noting this for completeness' sake.

I started playing UrT on 4.1 about a year or two ago, and it has always been this way for me, be it on 4.1, 4.1.1, using ioq3 exe, ioUrbanTerror exe, mitsu's build, or my current build based on mitsu's build.  I didn't even know it was possible to get it working.  But a couple months ago I upgraded my win2k3 desktop to win7 and ended up losing my GUID.

Somehow in the process of trying to get the right GUID restored from various backup sources, I ended up with a strange build that actually showed the accuracy ring on the G36 scope.  This version of my install even used the right GUID if I recall correctly, but the audio was horribly screwed up.  It was like the entire audio library got replaced, and all the sounds were very different.  Weapons fire in particular sounded like pinging noises and was much less distinctive between weapons.  I set that install aside and created yet another from backup sources--this time everything was back to normal.